Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Hazim Delic and Esad Landzo Transferred to Finland to Serve their Prison Sentences


Press Release . Communiqué de presse
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)


The Hague, 10 July 2003


Late on Wednesday 9 July 2003, Hazim Delic and Esad Landzo were transferred to Finland to serve their sentences of 18 and 15 years’ imprisonment respectively, as handed down by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY).

On 16 November 1998, Hazim Delić and Esad Landžo were sentenced to 20 years’ and 15 years’ imprisonment respectively (see Press Release 364e). On 20 February 2001, sentencing was remitted by the Appeals Chamber to a new Trial Chamber for possible adjustment (see Press release 564e). On 9 October 2001, a Trial Chamber sentenced Delić to 18 years’ and Landžo to 15 years’ imprisonment (see Press Release 628e). The sentences were confirmed by the Appeals Chamber on 8 April 2003 (see Press Release 743e/f).

Eleven other accused are currently serving sentence. Anto Furundzija also in Finland; Dusko Tadic and Dragoljub Kunarac in Germany; Stevan Todorovic, Drago Josipovic and Vladimir Santic in Spain; Dusko Sikirica in Austria; Zoran Vukovic and Radomir Kovac in Norway; Goran Jelisic in Italy and Biljana Plavsic in Sweden.

On 7 May 1997 Finland became the second State to enter into an Agreement on the enforcement of sentences with the ICTY (see press release 192-e). Other States to have entered into similar agreements are: Italy, which on 6 February 1997, was the first State to sign, Norway (signed 24 April 1998), Sweden (signed on 23 February 1999), Austria (signed on 23 July 1999), France (signed on 25 February 2000), Spain (signed on 28 March 2000) and Denmark (signed 19 June 2002). Germany has signed two ad hoc agreements with the Tribunal with regards to Dusko Tadic and Dragoljub Kunarac.