Judge Mohamed Shahabuddeen, Presiding
Judge Antonio Cassese
Judge Wang Tieya
Judge Rafael Nieto-Navia
Judge Florence Ndepele Mwachande Mumba

Mrs. Dorothee de Sampayo Garrido-Nijgh

Order of:
23 August 1999







The Office of the Prosecutor:

Mr. Upawansa Yapa
Ms. Brenda Hollis
Mr. William Fenrick
Mr. Michael Keegan
Ms. Ann Sutherland

Counsel for the Appellant:

Mr. William Clegg
Mr. John Livingston

Other Parties:

Mr. Vladimir Domazet, for Mr. Milan Vujin
Mr. Anthony Abell, for Mr. Dusko Tadic


THE APPEALS CHAMBER of the International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law Committed in the Territory of the former Yugoslavia since 1991 ("Appeals Chamber"),

NOTING the oral decision of the Appeals Chamber of 15 July 1999, allowing the Parties to the appeal on merits ("Parties") to file written briefs by 25 August 1999 in respect of sub-paragraphs (4) and (5) of the disposition in the Judgement on the merits of the present appeal rendered on that same day ("Judgement");

NOTING the Scheduling Order issued by the Appeals Chamber on 15 July 1999 ("Scheduling Order I");

NOTING the Scheduling Order issued by the Appeals Chamber on 27 July 1999 ("Scheduling Order II");

HEREBY DECIDES to vacate Scheduling Order I and to modify Scheduling Order II,


(1) the sentencing hearing scheduled for the afternoon of 30 August 1999 be cancelled; and

(2) the hearings In the Matter of Allegations against Prior Counsel (IT-94-1-A-R77) be resumed on Monday 30 August 1999 at 2:30pm,

AND REAFFIRMS that the Parties are to file by 25 August 1999 written submissions on the issue as to whether the Appeals Chamber should remit to a Trial Chamber, and, if so, to which Trial Chamber, the question of sentencing the Appellant in respect of the counts on which the Appellant has been found guilty in sub-paragraphs (4) and (5) of the disposition in the Judgement.

Done in both English and French, the English text being authoritative.

Judge Rafael Nieto-Navia

Dated this twenty-third day of August 1999
At The Hague,
The Netherlands.

[Seal of the Tribunal]