Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Ad litem Judge Lattanzi sworn in

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)
The Hague, 2 July 2007
CT/MOW/ PR1171e

Ad litem Judge Lattanzi sworn in

Judge Flavia Lattanzi (Italy) was today sworn in as ad litem judge of the Tribunal. This brings the number of ad litem and reseve judges serving at the Tribunal to twelve.

Judge Lattanzi has been appointed to serve as an ad litem judge for the trial of the former Bosnian Army Commander Rasim Delić. The trial is scheduled to begin on 9 July 2007.

The biography for Judge Lattanzi, as well as all other permanent and ad litem judges, can be found on the Tribunal's website at www.un.org/icty/glance/index.htm.

The Tribunal has 16 permanent judges elected by the UN General Assembly, as well as a maximum at any one time of 12 ad litem judges. The ad litem judges are appointed to sit on a specific trial. This appointment is made by the Secretary-General at the request of the Tribunal's president, from a pool of 27 judges elected by the UN General Assembly.