Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

<i>Ad Litem</i> Judge Nyambe Sworn In

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)
The Hague, 1 December 2009


Ad Litem Judge Nyambe Sworn In

Judge Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia) was today sworn in as an ad litem judge of the Tribunal to sit on the trial of Zdravko Tolimir. Her arrival brings the number of ad litem and reserve judges serving at the Tribunal to 13.

Judge Nyambe’s biography will be available on the Tribunal’s website.

The Tribunal has 16 permanent judges elected by the UN General Assembly, as well as up to 13 ad litem judges who are appointed to sit on a specific trial. This appointment is made by the Secretary-General at the request of the Tribunal's President, from a pool of 27 judges elected by the UN General Assembly. 

Article 12(1) of the Tribunal’s Statute allows the appointment of a maximum of 12 ad litem judges. Security Council resolution 1877(2009) authorised the Secretary-General to appoint additional ad litem judges as a temporary measure, upon request by the Tribunal’s President, to a maximum of 13, returning to a maximum of 12 by 31 December 2009. 

International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

For more information, please contact our Media Office in The Hague
Tel.: +31-70-512-8752; 512-5343; 512-5356 Fax: +31-70-512-5355 - Email: press [at] icty.org