Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Dragan Nikolic Transferred to Serve Sentence in Italy

(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)
The Hague, 23 June 2006

Dragan Nikolic Transferred to Serve Sentence in Italy

Dragan Nikolic, a commander of a Bosnian Serb Detention Camp, was transferred to Italy on 21 June 2006 to serve his sentence of 20 years' imprisonment.

Nikolic was sentenced by the Tribunal for his participation in the persecutions, murder, rape and torture committed against Bosnian Muslim and other non-Serb civilians in the Susica Detention Camp in the Vlasenica municipality of eastern Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Nikolic was a commander of the Camp from June 1992 until late September 1992. Nikolic was also convicted of killing nine non-Serb detainees while in charge of the Susica Camp. The oldest of his victims was a 60-year-old man whose ordeal lasted for seven days during which time he was beaten unconscious on several occasions.

On 4 September 2003, Nikolic pleaded guilty to the charge of persecution on political, racial and religious grounds, murder, sexual violence, torture.

Procedural Background

Initial indictment issued on: 4 November 1994

Amended indictment issued on: first amended: 12 February 1999;

Second amended: 15 February 2002; third amended: 31 October 2003

Transferred to the Tribunal: 21 April 2000

Guilty Plea: 4 September 2003, pleaded guilty to all counts of the third amended indictment

Trial Chamber Sentencing Judgement: 18 December 2003, sentenced to 23 years' imprisonment

Appeals Chamber Judgement: 4 February 2005, sentenced to 20 years' imprisonment

Other transfers

Twenty-one other accused are serving their sentences: Dusko Sikirica, Mitar Vasiljevic, Dario Kordic and Zoran Zigic in Austria; Dusko Tadic and Dragoljub Kunarac in Germany; Vladimir santic and Darko Mrđa in Spain; Zoran Vukovic, Radomir Kovac and Dragan Obrenovic in Norway; Goran Jelisic and Milorad Krnojelac in Italy; Biljana Plavsic and Miroslav Deronjic in Sweden; Hazim Delic and Esad Landzo in Finland; Ranko cesic in Denmark; Predrag Banovic and Mlađo Radic in France; and Radislav Krstic in the United Kingdom.