Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

ICTY OTP signs 10th annual Chautauqua Declaration

The Hague |

On 29 August 2017, the current and former chief prosecutors of international criminal tribunals issued their 10th annual Chautauqua Declaration. The Declaration canvases current issues in international criminal justice and calls upon members of the international community to take concrete steps to keep the spirit of the Nuremberg Principles alive. This year's Declaration notes the important contributions of the ICTY to international criminal justice, affirms the necessity of accepting the facts established by international tribunals and condemns the glorification of war criminals and the denial of crimes.

Kevin C. Hughes, Legal Advisor to Chief Prosecutor Serge Brammertz, signed the Declaration on behalf of the ICTY & MICT OTPs.