Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Ad Litem Judge Harhoff Sworn In

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)
The Hague, 9 January 2007

Ad Litem Judge Harhoff Sworn In

Judge Frederik Harhoff (Denmark) was today sworn in as ad litem, or temporary, judge of the Tribunal. His arrival brings the number of ad litem and reserve judges serving at the Tribunal to eleven.

The Judge was appointed by the Secretary General to serve on the Dragomir Milošević case, Commander of the Sarajevo Romanija Corps of the Bosnian Serb Army (VRS) based around Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, charged with the sniping and shelling attacks on the city of Sarajevo. The trial is scheduled to start on Thursday, 11 January 2007.

The biography for Judge Harhoff, as well as all other permanent and ad litem judges, can be found on the Tribunal's website at www.un.org/icty/glance/index.htm.

The Tribunal has 16 permanent judges elected by the UN General Assembly, as well as a maximum at any one time of 12 ad litem judges. The ad litem judges are appointed to sit on a specific trial. This appointment is made by the Secretary-General at the request of the Tribunal's president, from a pool of 27 judges elected by the UN General Assembly.