Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Events to Mark the Beginning of ICTY's Judges' Third Term of Office.

Press Release . Communiqué de presse

(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)



The Hague, 21 November 2001



To mark the beginning of the third term of office for the Judges of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY), a number of important events have been scheduled.

On Thursday 22 November 2001 the six new permanent Judges of the Tribunal will make their solemn declarations at 5.30 p.m. in Courtroom I. The new Judges, elected by the General Assembly on 14 March 2001, are:

Mr. Theodor Meron from the United States of America

Mr. Mohamed Amin El Abbassi Elmahdi from Egypt

Mr. Carmel A. Agius from Malta

Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie from the Netherlands

Mr. Wolfgang Schomburg from Germany, and

Mr. O-gon Kwon from the Republic of Korea.

On the same day, the Tribunal will host a Diplomatic Information Briefing, at which representatives from The Hague’s diplomatic community will be given an overview of the work of the Tribunal and the challenges that lie ahead. They will be addressed by the President of the Tribunal, Judge Claude Jorda, the Prosecutor, Carla Del Ponte, and the Registrar, Mr. Hans Holthuis.

The following day, Friday 23 November 2001, during an extraordinary plenary session, the permanent Judges will elect the President and Vice President of the Tribunal and the new President will announce the composition of the Chambers.


Biographies of the new Judges are available on request.