Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

The first six ad-litem Judges appointed by United Nations Secretary-General, Kofi Annan.

Press Release . Communiqué de presse

(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)


The Hague, 31 July 2001



Further to the election of 27 ad litem Judges by the General Assembly on 12 June 2001, the President of the Tribunal, Judge Claude Jorda, welcomes the appointment by the Secretary-General of the following six ad litem Judges to the Tribunal as of 3 September 2001:

Ms. Maureen Harding Clark (Ireland)

Ms. Fatoumata Diarra (Mali)

Ms. Ivana Janu (Czech Republic)

Mr. Amarjeet Singh (Singapore)

Ms. Chikako Taya (Japan)

Ms. Sharon A. Williams (Canada)

Upon their arrival at the ICTY, the ad litem Judges will have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the Tribunal during a one week seminar which will take place from 3 to 7 September 2001.

The ad litem Judges will then be assigned to one of the following three trials which are expected to begin on 10 September 2001:

The Prosecutor v. Blagoje Simic Milan Simic Miroslav Tadic Simo Zaric

The Prosecutor v. Mladen Naletilic Vinko Martinovic

The Prosecutor v. Mitar Vasiljevic

The ad litem Judges will be invited to make their solemn declaration pursuant to the applicable provisions of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence on Thursday 6th September 2001 in Courtroom 1.

The President of the Tribunal expressed the view that the arrival of the first six ad litem Judges is an important event in the history of the Tribunal which coincides with a significant increase in the level of trial activity beginning in September 2001.

The President, the Judges and all staff members take this opportunity to extend a warm welcome to the first six ad litem Judges to join the Tribunal.