Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Judge Flügge Sworn In

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)

The Hague, 20 November 2008

Judge Flügge Sworn In

Judge Christoph Flügge (Germany) was today sworn in as a permanent judge of the Tribunal. Judge Flügge replaces Judge Wolfgang Schomburg who resigned from the ICTY, effective 18 November 2008.

This appointment is made by the Secretary-General in accordance with article 13 bis, paragraph 2 of the ICTY Statute, which reads:

“In the event of a vacancy in the Chambers amongst the permanent judges elected or appointed in accordance with this article, after consultation with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly, the Secretary-General shall appoint a person meeting the qualifications of article 13 of the Statute, for the remainder of the term of office concerned”

The biography for Judge Flügge, as well as all other permanent and ad litem judges, can be found on the Tribunal’s website at http://www.un.org/icty/cases-e/factsheets/organs-e.htm.

The Tribunal has 16 permanent judges elected by the UN General Assembly, as well as ad litem judges who are appointed to sit on a specific trial.

International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

For more information, please contact our Media Office in The Hague
Tel.: +31-70-512-5343; 512-5356 Fax: +31-70-512-5355 - Email: press [at] icty.org