Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Milomir Stakić transferred to serve sentence in France

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)
The Hague, 12 January 2007

Milomir Stakić transferred to serve sentence in France

Milomir Stakić, former mayor of Prijedor, a municipality in north-western Bosnia and Herzegovina, was transferred today to France to serve his sentence of 40 years' imprisonment.

Milomir Stakić was convicted for his responsibility in exterminating, murdering and persecuting Bosnian Muslims and Bosnian Croats in Prijedor in 1992. The Trial Chamber held him responsible for more than 1,500 killings, identifying 486 victims by name; for the establishing the notorious camps of Omarska, Keraterm and Trnopolje where hundreds of non-Serb detainees were murdered and tortured; for the killing of some 200 people at Korićanske Stijene and the planning and ordering the deportation of around 20 000 non-Serbs from Prijedor. On 31 July 2003, the Trial Chamber sentenced him to life imprisonment, the maximum penalty.

On 22 March 2006, the Appeals Chamber Chamber confirmed the convictions against Stakić but reduced his sentence to 40 years' imprisonment.

For a complete overview of the case, the case information sheet can be found on the Tribunal's website at http://www.icty.org/x/cases/stakic/cis/en/cis_stakic.pdf.

Other transfers
Twenty-three other accused are serving their sentences: Duško Sikirica, Mitar Vasiljević, Dario Kordić and Zoran Žigić in Austria; Duško Tadić and Dragoljub Kunarac in Germany; Vladimir Šantić and Darko Mrða in Spain; Zoran Vuković, Radomir Kovaè and Dragan Obrenović in Norway; Dragan Nikolić, Goran Jelisić and Milorad Krnojelac in Italy; Biljana Plavšić and Miroslav Deronjić in Sweden; Hazim Delić and Esad Landžo in Finland; Ranko Èešić and Miodrag Jokić in Denmark; Predrag Banović and Mlaðo Radić in France; and Radislav Krstić in the United Kingdom.