Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

New Composition of Chambers.

Press Release CHAMBERS

(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)

The Hague, 18 November 1999

New Composition of Chambers.

Following consultations among the Judges, the Appeals Chamber and the three Trial Chambers are now composed as follows:

THE APPEALS CHAMBER will consist of:

Judge Claude JORDA (France), Presiding
Judge Mohamed Shahabuddeen (Guyana)
Judge Lal Chand VOHRAH (Malaysia)
Judge WANG Tieya (China)
Judge Rafael NIETO-NAVIA (Columbia)

THE TRIAL CHAMBER I will consist of:

Judge Almiro Simoes RODRIGUES (Portugal), Presiding
Judge Fouad Abel-Monem RIAD (Egypt)
Judge Patricia WALD (United States of America)

THE TRIAL CHAMBER II will consist of:

Judge Antonio CASSESE (Italy), Presiding
Judge Florence Ndepele Mwachande MUMBA (Zambia)
Judge David HUNT (Australia)

THE TRIAL CHAMBER III will consist of:

Judge Richard George MAY (United Kingdom), Presiding
Judge Mohamed BENNOUNA (Morocco)
Judge Patrick Lipton ROBINSON (Jamaica)


The allocation of cases between the Trial Chambers has not been modified.

It reads as follows:

Trial Chamber I:

The Prosecutor v. Radislav Krstic
The Prosecutor v. Vinko Martinovic

Please note that the Jelisic and Blaskic cases will continue to be dealt with by Trial Chamber I in its former composition, namely Judge Jorda, Presiding, Judge Rodrigues and Judge Riad (Jelisic case) or Judge Shahabuddeen (Blaskic case).

Trial Chamber II:

With Judge Cassese presiding:

The Prosecutor v. Radoslav Brdanin
The Prosecutor v. Momir Talic

With Judge Mumba presiding:

The Prosecutor v. Dragoljub Kunarac and Radomir Kovac

With Judge Hunt presiding:

The Prosecutor v. Milorad Krnojelac

Please note that the case The Prosecutor v. Kupreskic & al. will continue to be dealt with by Trial Chamber II consisting of Judge Cassese, Presiding, Judge Mumba and Judge May.)

Trial Chamber III:

The Prosecutor v. Dario Kordic and Mario Cerkez
The Prosecutor v. Sikirica & al. (Dragan Kolundzija and Damir Dosen)
The Prosecutor v. Kvocka & al. (Miroslav Kvocka, Milojica Kos, Mlado Radic and Zoran Zigic)

A Trial Chamber III-bis, consisting of Judge Robinson, Presiding, Judge Hunt and Judge Bennouna will hear the case The Prosecutor v. Simic & al. (Milan Simic, Miroslav Tadic, Stevan Todorovic and Simo Zaric).



International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
For more information, please contact our Media Office in The Hague
Tel.: +31-70-512-8752; 512-5343; 512-5356 - Email:
press [at] icty.org ()
Follow ICTY on Facebook,
Twitter and Youtube