Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

Since the ICTY’s closure on 31 December 2017, the Mechanism maintains this website as part of its mission to preserve and promote the legacy of the UN International Criminal Tribunals.

 Visit the Mechanism's website.

Two AD LITEM Judges Sworn in

Press Release
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)

The Hague, 27 June 2006


Judge Ali Nawaz Chowhan (Pakistan) and Judge Tsvetana Kamenova (Bulgaria) were sworn in today as ad litem, or temporary, judges of the Tribunal. The UN Secretary General appointed both Judges as ad litem judges to sit on the Milutinovic et al. trial, involving six former Serb and Yugoslav political, military and police leaders, which is due to commence on 10 July 2006.

The Tribunal has 16 permanent judges elected by the UN General Assembly, as well as a maximum at any one time of 12 ad litem judges. The ad litem judges are appointed to sit on a specific trial. This appointment is made by the Secretary-General at the request of the Tribunal's president, from a pool of 27 judges elected by the UN General Assembly.

The biographies of Judge Chowhan and Judge Kamenova, as well as all other permanent and ad litem judges, can be found on the Tribunal's website at www.un.org/icty/glance/index.htm.


Courtroom proceedings can be followed on the Tribunal's website at www.un.org/icty